Nevis needed a win at Red Lake in the regular-season finale to earn a share of the Northland Conference title.

365体育投注Thanks to a balanced scoring attack, the Tigers were able to tie Cass Lake-Bena for the conference crown with a 63-57 victory over Red Lake on Friday, Feb. 28.

365体育投注Eddie Kramer (17), Derek Lindow (16), Luke DeWulf (16) and Ty Warrington (14) scored in double figures as the Tigers were able to avenge a 75-66 loss to Red Lake on Jan. 21. Jack McNamee and Cain Mitchell joined DeWulf with five rebounds apiece while Lindow (8) and Warrington (5) combined for 13 assists. Warrington and DeWulf had five steals each while Lindow had three steals for the Tigers, who led 29-25 at the half.

365体育投注DJ Holthusen scored 23 points and Aaron Chaboyea added 19 points for the Warriors, who fell to 9-4 in the conference and 14-11 overall.

365体育投注The win lifted Nevis to 11-3 in the conference standings to tie Cass Lake-Bena for the top spot. Following Red Lake in the conference standings are Blackduck (9-5), Walker-Hackensack-Akeley (7-7), Pine River-Backus (6-8), Northome-Kelliher (2-12) and Laporte (0-13).

“The conference championship was on the line for us and we came out and responded. We got off to a good start and ended up leading the entire game. It was a great team win, as everyone contributed,” said Nevis head coach Scott Kramer. “Our guards really took care of the ball and got good shots, and Dewulf and McNamee did a great job on the boards and defending their big guys. Mitchell and (Joe) Houchin were great off of the bench as well. It was a huge win for us on the road against a good Red Lake team and the win gives us a share of the conference title. I am extremely proud of the guys for their effort all season, especially being able to compete with how young our team is. Hopefully we can take this momentum into tournament play.”

Nevis received the No.1 seed in the West half of Section 5A and will open the tournament by hosting either No. 8 Bertha-Hewitt or No. 9 Laporte at the Tiger Arena on Thursday (March 5) at 7 p.m. The winner of that game advances to play either No. 4 Browerville/Eagle Valley or No. 5 Walker-Hackensack-Akeley at Wadena on Saturday (March 7) at 6 p.m.